Home > What is TEJO? > Structure

The executive organ of TEJO is the committee which consists of delegates from three categories: A, the representatives from National Sections and the Interest Groups; B, representatives elected directly from the membership; and C, individuals elected or appointed by the delegates from categories A and B. Separate from the delegates is the leadership, which is also part of the committee.

The committee defines the general course of TEJO, makes budget proposals and accountsthe finances of the organization. They also decide on the acceptance of dismissal of National Sections, Interest Groups, and Honorary Titles. The committee is tasked to elect the leadership, to serve as its check-and-balance and to assist it in the completion of certain tasks. The members of the leadership are automatically considered as members of the committee for the duration of their term.

The leadership is the upper executive organ of TEJO. It oversees the decisions of the committee, drafts and presents to it the action plans, financial reports and budget proposal. It also decides on the main details of the International Youth Congress, nominates the editors of the magazine “Kontakto” and the column “TEJO-Worldwide”.

While the responsibility of certain tasks rests with the leadership, it reserves the rights to nominate commissioners to assist the leadership and the committee in the realization of these tasks. Some commissioners lead commissions – permanent subcommittees that deals with a significant issue that TEJO faces. The functions of these commissions is regulated by the committee, which also empowered to tasks the commissions with specific tasks.

Finally is the full time TEJO-Volunteer who works at the Central Office in Rotterdam. The volunteer deals with administrative work and represents the organization at conferences and congresses. For external institutions, TEJO is represented by the General Director, who also works at the Central Office. As the youth-wing of the Universal Esperanto Association (UEA), TEJO has two representatives in the committee of the UEA.

For more information, please visit the Rules of TEJO and the Regulations of TEJO, and specifically, the Committee Regulations and Leadership Regulations. These pages are only available in Esperanto.

Paweł Fischer-Kotowski